Rethinking the operations

Today I had the chance to work with a delightful group of teachers. throughout the course of the afternoon we re-examined each of the operations – addition, subtraction, multiplicaiton and division – and thought about each of them in a new way. For some, this was a way to re-connect to stategies they had been exposed to before, for others, it was all new.

It occurred to me as I left that in three short hours we had re-visited, re-vamped, and re-learned everything we spent our entire elementary school years learning in math class. No wonder they looked so spent! 🙂

I must apologise to this group (and perhaps that is why this post) for pushing their brains so hard in such a short time.

I guess I’m just searching for better, more sensible ways for students to think about math – and sometimes it gets the better of me…

Leave a Reply

