Math and Technology

So I was talking to my friend Bill today. We were chatting about the new K-7 math curriculum for BC – among other things (how decidedly academic of us! 🙂 ) and I brought up the mathematical processes that are featured in the new elementary curriculum. For those of you just cracking the cellophane on this newest curriculum, the processes are ways of approaching a mathematical situation – a way of processing the big math ideas and solving a problem.

The processes include:
communication
connections
mental math and estimation
visualizing
reasoning
problem-solving and
technology

Each of the PLOs in the new IRP has a mathematical process assigned to it – a way in which the prescribed learning outcome is to be approached. There are enormous implications for the way we teach embedded in these processes…. but I digress.

It was the last of the processes that got Bill and I talking. He asked if I had any new sites or software for integrating technology into mathematics teaching and learning… so I got thinking and wanted to share – both with him and with you – some sites that I think have potential.

check out the pattern generator applet. Students identify the pattern, then place missing elements into the pattern. This can be really tricky, though – especially when you change the difficulty level and you start into growing patterns!

tesselating tool – a simple and really effective tool for illustrating properties of tessellations. Look on the instructor tab for guiding questions to keep the classroom discussion happening.

and this last one made my sleep-deprived brain hurt. It’s an interactive attribute train. That is, you’re asked to identify which element of a pattern comes next, only you have to reason which of the attributes to pay attention to – colour, number or shape! YIKES! I have the feeling my son would be WAY better at this than me. :O

so. fun, yes, but there’s more…
The important thing about these sites is NOT that they will provide entertainment for students in the computer lab, but rather that they will initiate a conversation between classmates, be the visual manipulative for developing and consolidating a mathematical concept.

Let me know if any of you have found others you like!
Carole

One response

  1. Hi Carole,
    Thank you for sharing your ideas and excitement at the pro-d day on Fri! I really enjoyed learning with you.
    Do you have an electronic file of the double decker school bus picture? If you do could you send it to me?
    I plan on teaching my K’s how to fill up the bus using that idea.
    Thank you
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

