Mental Math in Salmon Arm

wow….
I am sitting at the airport reeling after 2 days spent thinking and talking math! A huge thank you to my “hostess with the mostess” Sheri (mmmm – soup!) and to my friendly-neighbourhood stalker Jennifer. 😀

For those of you who worked with me today and yesterday, thanks for your patience and openness to new ideas. I think we managed to see a lot of amazing student work! I am attaching some of the forms we used today in our mental math lesson (called tools for thinking), as well as some I mentioned yesterday for using with early primary students (ten frames for adding). I like them both as tools for students to use to show their mathematical processes….

Amazing stuff too at the middle school where we manipulated growing patterns to develop understandings of the algebraic concepts of constant and variables. Check out this growiing pattern… Can you tell what’s changing and what’s staying the same as the man ages?

growing man

cheers!
carole

Leave a comment