Kindergarten & Grade 1 math games – mastering fives & tens

I am, as many of you know, a great fan of the games produced by the good folks at BEAM. They are conceptual, strategic and focus on the big math ideas across the grades. One of my favourites is “Totally Ten Snake”, in which two players take turns covering pairs of digits that add to 10 along a “snake” of numbers. When all the digits are covered – each player using his or her own coloured counters – the winner is the one with the longest string of digits covered in their colour. In the example below, red wins, with 4 in a row at the end of the game against purple:

Well, I love this game a lot, and when played strategically it can engage kids across the grades (and even adults at my workshops!). That said, I thought it was worth re-jigging the game for children who are younger, and for those who need support to focus on quantity rather than on the digits as set out in the original BEAM game.
These edited games are geared towards understandings of 5-ness and ten-ness, and use dots in place of digits. The rules are the same as in the original.  You can download your own version of Terrific Ten Snake or the easier ten frame 10 snake and/or the Fabulous Five Worm by clicking on their names…

Enjoy!  Carole

K&1 book cover

PS – If you’re looking for more ideas like this for K and grade 1, consider purchasing a copy of my book: Number Sense – A Combined Grades Resource for K, K/1 and Grade 1 Math Classrooms.  It’s set up to support teachers in addressing the number PLOs in mindful ways while keeping their Kindergarten and Grade 1 students together. Games, tasks, problems and meaningful practice opportunities are included in English and in French. To order online, click here.

15 responses

  1. When I click on the fabulous 5 worm it doesn’t link to a pdf file. Hmm…

    Cute stuff. Can’t wait to try it. Thanks!

  2. Yes its fabulous but if I can’t print it! 😦

  3. Great game! Very creative. I will share the link with our school teacher. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Looks great. Thanks!

  5. These games look fantastic! My kids will love them. Thanks so much.

  6. I had no problem with it! Love it, I know my class will too!

  7. yes I can download but how do you play the games, the TEN FRAME one in particular??

  8. can you send me the directions to terrific 10 snake.

  9. I had no problem with it! Love it, I know my class will too!

  10. Bonjour, je ne retrouve plus la règle pour le jeu du serpent. Pouvez-vous m’aider SVP. D’avance grand merci.

    1. Bonjour Nathale

      J’aurais dû inclure les règles pour le jeu… Je m’excuse! Les élèves jouent en partenaires, chacun avec sa propre couleur de jetons. Joueur A remet 2 jetons, couvrant deux montants qui donnent la somme de 10. Joueur B prend son tour. À la fin du jeu, le gagnant est ce qui a le rang de jetons le plus long dans sa propre couleur. En effet, c’est un jeu complexe – pendant que les élèves jouent au jeu, ils pratiquent les faits et aussi une stratégie gagnante…

      1. Un tout grand merci pour votre gentillesse. A bientôt j’espère.
        Nathalie

  11. […] frames. 7.   Two Fulbright Hugs  has some great FREE10 frame spinners. 8.  Mathematical Thinking has a FREE 10 frame snake which is fun to play. 9.  Marcia Murphy has a numbers 0 […]

Leave a comment